In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this piece, the author concludes that riverside recreational facilities should receive an increased share in Mason City's budget this year due to an impending increase in use of Mason River for recreational activities. To support this conclusion, the author states that the city's residents are avid fans of various forms of water sports. As additional evidence that now is the proper time to invest specifically in riverside recreational facilities, the author notes a recent plan to clean up the Mason River to improve its water quality and smell. However, the author's argument, as it stands n...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.