Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

We are currently living through what numerous environmental scientists consider a modern mass extinction with human manipulation of the environment as a primary source. The actions of mankind have wreaked havoc on ecosystems worldwide and upset natural equilibria, leading to a several hundred-fold uptick in the extinction rate of the preceding millennia. The prompt suggests that humans remedy this environmental catastrophe only in cases where the threat to endangered species is directly tied to human activities. There is some merit to this consideration, as it is the nature of species to go extinct in the vast majority of cases. Well over ninety percent of the species that have ever existed had already gone extinct before humans ever occupied the Earth. Survival of the fittest dictates that genetic mutations promoting traits suited to the environment will thrive, while those maladaptive to the current surroundings will fail and vanish. However, mankind has reshaped the planet so drastically that our role as stewards of nature must now extend beyond just the cases in which a clear cause and effect relationship of our harm to them can be established.

First, human activity on the planet has touched every inch of the surface, as well as much of the vast depths of the oceans, and therefore at least indirectly affects virtually all species. Pollution and massive carbon emissions into the atmosphere have reshaped the global climate: increasing average temperatures of the air, acidifying the oceans and presenting hazardous waste and plastic into globally circulating water sources. Even the depths of the deepest ocean on Earth have been littered with plastic debris. If we work to save any endangered animal species, we are working to save animal species affected by our actions.

Furthermore, because our impact has been so pervasive, we have a duty to preserve what biodiversity we can to atone for the thousands of species we have already harmed or completely eradicated. While humans have not contributed to dwindling panda populations as much as we have the populations of endangered birds whose eggs can no longer calcify correctly in acidic conditions, most humans can appreciate the value of keeping pandas around. Altruism begets a more wondrous natural environment than a tit-for-tat mentality.

Human globalization has irreversibly altered the landscape on which animals must live their lives, and for many of them, this new environment would lead to their downfalls. We must understand the impact that we have had on the world and take roles as preservers of the life that we have so deeply affected.