Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

For as long as governments have existed, so has the question of whether to use their limited pools of resources to mend society's current issues or to prevent those that are predicted to arise over time. The prompt suggests that focusing on the problems at hand would be a better use of those resources than putting them towards future issues which may or may not occur. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with the above prompt because while some issues carry a sense of urgency that requires immediate attention, the majority of issues can be addressed more efficiently if they are dealt with before they grow to become major concerns. Below I present an example of a type of situation which must be taken care of immediately and two examples of situations in which the long-term approach yields greater benefits.

First, consider situations which will deteriorate rapidly if care is not provided to those most in need. For example, a natural disaster such as an earthquake or a large fire that leaves hundreds or thousands injured, homeless, or cut off from access to utilities. A society which would not immediately shift its allocation of resources to aid those unable to fulfill their most basic needs denies its citizens their right to health and safety. In this circumstance, prioritizing issues of the present is clearly the correct choice.

However, when the current situation is not quite as dire, failing to aim a portion of a government's resources to prevent future issues will allow those issues to accumulate until they because exactly the sort of catastrophes mentioned above. Considering the case of climate change, governments focused on making sure that their economies prosper in the present day are altering the state of the environment in a manner that scientists predict will lead to flooding, drought, an increase in damaging storms, and a variety of other detrimental natural occurrences in the future. Investing in environmentally conscious technology today will pay off in the long run when we do not need to deal with these future calamities.

Finally, investment in future generations through education ensures that a country will continue to grow and prosper. Failing to direct enough funding into any of the arts or sciences will leave a portion of human knowledge to be lost if it is not passed on to the youngest of citizens. Investing in the next generation sets them up to more than make up the effort put into training them to be productive contributors for society.

The optimization of resource allocation to current and future issues is a problem too complex for any government to have solved up to this point in time. Hopefully as we continue systemic research studies on how resource distribution leads to societal growth over time, we can continue to improve our understanding of the situation. It is clear that the answer will be some mixture of taking care of the problems of today and preparing for those of tomorrow.