In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes littl

This argument attempts to chronologically place the events of the town in a way to conclude that more money needs to be allocated into the city's budget for riverside recreational facilities. After further inspection, one will find that this conclusion is based on many stated and unstated assumptions about the survey, the city and the recreational facilties. This leads the argument to be very superfluous once its assumptions are shown to be unwarranted, as will be done below.

To begin, the argument states that 'surveys' show that water sports are favored by Mason City residents, yet there in no explanation of the type of surveys, quantity of residents surveyed or the validity of results. The following statement in the argument says that the city is rarely used for such activites, which brings the reader to question how residents could rank water sports as their favorite if they aren't found to be engaging in them in their place of residence. Both assumptions imply a need for sports that is simply not qualified by any strong data.

Furthermore, the portion in regard to the city's lack of monetary support of the riverside's recreational facilites seems to assume that the city park department does not maintain these facilities well, which leads to low usage. However, it could very well be that these facilities are not used, which has led to its lack of use. The next part mentions that poor quality of water could also be a major factor that leads both people to not use the facilities, and the city to not put more money into recreational use of the water.

Even though the argument mentions that the state has announced plans to clean the river, there is no timeline drawn. The argument assumes that the cleaning will be done in the same year they are asking for more money to be put into riverside facilities. It could make sense for money to be put in following the year the river is actually clean, but even then the assumption that 'use of the river for water sports is sure to increase' is not a substantial claim that can be made given that there is no record or survey that can back up that cleaning the river would lead to any more people wanting to use the river for water sports, if those are even among their favorite recreational acivities.

This argument was filled with many assumptions that seem reasonable at first glance, yet in reality do not give a picture of true data from a reasonable sample of the city, nor does it address the discrepencies in correlations made. Having proved the assumptions unwarranted, the argument is not able to hold much weight.