As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoni

To say that anything in the future will 'surely' come to be, is quite a bold statement. The statement provided expresses that humans are essentially accelerating their own demise, by relying more and more on technology as time goes on. Though there is some truth to this, by and large the ability for humans to think for themselves cannot possibly deteriorate and the expectation of cutting edge technology is proof of that.

The key idea to be established is that in fact, technology and artificial intelligence is just as 'smart' as humans allow it to be. One may argue that technology has more knowledge than the average human, which is clear when speaking to a voice-automated Siri, Alexa or Google. However, ask them about their thoughts and feelings about a particular subject and you would get dismal results because they simply aren't programmed with the intelligence and complexity of the human brain. In fact, researchers still can't fully understand everything that goes on in the brain, so it would be foolish to assume that reliance on technology would make our thinking less as a whole.

In more specific scenarios, it is plausible that perhaps technology is solving problems that are making humans less willing to use their critical thinking or problem-solving abilities. For example, just the invention of the calculator, in its most basic form, has made mental math a thing of past. Despite this, calculators do not make problem-solving obselete. On the contrary, humans ar now able to think of mathematical equations in ways they never could before, which leads to creating and solving newer problems. Even technology does not have the ability to do every mathematical or quanitative function, which is where the human mind comes in to perform.

Finally, the abilty of humans to think for themselves comes at a very young age and is promoted as children progress through their schooling. Though the statement, again, may hold true at times where students are allowed some form of technology to help them with homework or even class work, learning in the class can only even be done with a human instructor and participation comes from students using their minds and imaginations to work. Especially for the humanities, there is only so far technology can be used, as an essay written or graded by a computer can only reach a certain level in terms of expertise. Technology's goal is to make life easier. That is why for standarized examinations, like the GRE, there is both a computer grader and a human one and both only assist each other to make the process easier.

To conclude, there were many ways in which the statement provided might have held true but all had been excrapolated to see that there is more infromation that would disagree with such a statement and that in the end, humans reliance for technology cannot take away from their physiological ability to think, reason and rationalize. Thinking and problem solving are just some of the many unique qualities that make humans who they are. As Descartes said, "I think, therefore I am."