A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your rea

A nation inherently is one joint union. Following this understanding, a nation should indeed require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. A national curriculum ensures standardization and equality amongst all students in a given nation. The examples below will illustrate the advantages of having the same national curriculum and how this would be a fair requirement to impose.

Firstly, a national curriculum allows all cities, states and provinces to be held to the same standard and compared to each other. Just as there is a standardization of education through which countries are compared, a nation must be able to compare its statistics and scores among its neighboring towns and cities. This would not only set a gold standard, but ensure that all cities states, etc. are asked to be held to that standard. If every city or even state had different curriculums, it would not only be difficult for students who have to move, but also teachers when they must put together their curriculum. Above all that, schools would have no way of knowing how their curriculum fares against a neighboring school. This can also help a nation hold others to a similar standard.

Furthermore, when high schoolers start applying to colleges, they tend to look at schools out of state. This is a massive trend specifically in the United States, for a multitude of reasons. The benefits of a national curriculum in this case are surely unparralleled. Colleges would be able to expect the same common knowledge from each and every one of their applicants, leading to stronger and more competitive incoming class. For example, all students come in with a different skill level for foreign language, though it is mandatory in just about every college. This means that if a student did not take the required years of a language in high school, they must make up the missed years in college. This results in students being forced to use their college tuition to take courses they should have, and could have, completed in high school. If all students, nationally, are expected to be at the same foreign language level, it would only seek to benefit their college experience and decrease the time and money wasted by waiting to take certain classes in college.

Finally, a national curriculum would ensure that no child is left behind. Every child, regardless of the economic condition they live in, has access to the same level of education. This would also put more pressure on governments to actually provide equal level of funding at all schools, as everyone has the same curriculum to uphold and can only do so if they have the same amount of resources, be that in the form of teachers or teaching supplies. This would also alleviate the stress felt in disadvantaged communities, who are disproptionately minorities, and allow them to believe in the possibility of getting into the same colleges or receiving the same jobs as their wealthier counterparts.

As Abraham Lincoln once said, a house divided by itself, cannot stand. While varying curriculums may allow for more flexibility at times, there are not enough benefits to promote such a position. A national curriculum would ensure that a nation is paying attention to the needs of all its people and not just the wealthy few. It would be able to compare its strengths and weaknesses across states, give colleges the ease of expecting a standard level of education from its applicants and allow students across different socioeconomic background the ability and resources to excel through a standardized curriculum.