"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

There is no perfect way to get an individual prepared for leadership. Every field is different, but at the end of the day if a society wants a better future it must instill values that are transferable by all sorts of people, in any field they find themselves in. For this reason, this is a very reasonable claim and the following paragraphs will not only substantiate it, but also exemplify possible counterarguments.

First, a sense of cooperation will last young people far longer in any industry than competition ever will. It is believed, however, that competition is a necessary driving force, especially in an ever-growing capitalist society. If a young graduate walked down Wall Street saying that competition isn't worthwhile, they might as well be wearing a dunce cap. However, it would also be foolish to say cooperation has no place, as there as thousands of transcations and investments going on which require cooperation on both the side of the buyer and seller. The point that cooperation will last longer does not negate the need for competition, but emphasizes that even competitive environments require a cooperative nature.

Furthermore, industries are truly looking for the younger workforce to come in with soft skills that focus on cooperation as opposed to competition. One could argue that this sense of cooperation can cloud one's judgements. This was said about the famous Elon Musk not too long ago, when he revealed he would be making the patent on his Tesla cars public, allowing for competitors to copy his exact designs. Though it may look like a foolish decision for some, economists agreed that this open-mindedness will lead to future innovators to continue to pave the way for green technology and give to the greater good. If Musk had led with a sense of competition, promotion of envionmentally concious cars would have been dismal. In short, a sense of cooperation can lead to more innovation, as opposed to the stifling greediness that often comes out of competition.

Finally, many fields have been adopting methods to see how to grow and retain their workforce and it has often come down to the motivations that employees come in with. More specifically, the field of Industrial/Organizational Psychology has been increasing due to companies realizing there is something more than just focusing on its profits and losses. Challengers to this fact may say that industries have done just fine without 'interventions' in the workplace. Although there may be some truth to this, it does not negate that such a field is growing in prominence because industries want to do even better than they were before. Much competition has been found among co-workers (for example, who sells the most of a product) which can lead to much hostility in the workplace. Reaffirming the need for healthy group dyanmics comes by affirming the need for cooperation, with a healthier balance of competition.

To conclude, with all the challenges against the support of this claim, the claim did not deny the need for competition, but ranked it lower. The supporting points explained that even the most compelling reasons cannot reasonably convince a society to prepare its young people by instilling competition because a sense of cooperation is far more favorable.