In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes littl

It might seem logical,at first glance,to agree with the above-mentioned argument that cleaning the water of Mason river will inevitably increase the water sports activity there.However, in order to evaluate the validity of the argument,we need to have significant amount of evidence regarding this argument. Hence, in order to determine this evaluation we need to delve deeper.

First of all,the first piece of evidence that we would need to know is the information about the actual reason of rarely using the water body of Mason river for water sports activities.It may be possible that the citizens use other river for their sports activity which thus make the Mason river an optional for their activity. If this happens, then it is going to weaken the argument conspicuously and the decision of allocation of city government money in year's budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities would be abortive.

Secondly, the argument points out that Mason city residents relish to indulge in water sports activities like fishing, boating, swimming and also states that for years,residents have been repining about the poor water quality and which is why the city government have decided to take those above-mentioned steps.Now the interest fact is that, the argument did not mention whether the habit of sports have been changed or not among the citizens during these years of government's dereliction towards the Mason river. If so, then cleaning up the Mason river and procurement of riverside amusement facilities would not help to allure citizen anymore to engage in water sports which would leave this argument unwarranted.

Moreover, the argument fails to represent enough evidence regarding the reasons behind the reason for not using the Mason river for sports activity.If government allocate enough money to clean up the water body and to provide other recreational facilities might increase the sports activity along the river but if they fail in maintaining the quality of river water and updating others facilities regarding recreational facilities, it will surely dwindle the extent of sports activity.And, there is no mention about the money allotment on maintenance which squarely make this argument unconvincing and fallacious.

By way of conclusion, it can be said that the above argument is practically based on some faltering speculations,trudging conjectures, which are apocryphal and indeed, not enough to draw any conclusion as the author of the argument has mentioned.Therefore,it can be concluded that this argument is categorically skewed and unwarranted.