In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite

recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits,

however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational

facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and

the river's smell.

The author concludes the city government should prepare more budget for the Mason River. The passage suggests that by seeing a survey that indicates the favorites of activities for the people of Mason and predicting what happens if the Mason River be clean. At first glance, the statement seems to be strong enough to persuade us to accept to devote more fund for Mason River but when we revise it, deeply, there is some unstated assumption which needs to answer.

To begin with, the passage asserts in a survey water sport are among the favorite activity for the people of Mason. But, we should consider the word favorite is obscured here. Perhaps water sports are favorite but after other sports which have a lot of fans in the town. Or we should regard, maybe someone is a fan of soccer and water sports but if he has to choose, he chooses soccer. As a result, because the survey is not complete and has a flaw in it, it is not reliable and the conclusion has a problem.

Furthermore, the author expresses the government should spend money to improve the quality of the river flowing through the city. If the problems of the river start in another city, the money which is spent to improve the condition of the river will not affect the city. At first, we need to survey the location of the problem and then try to solve that. Sometimes, the quality of the water is not good for some sport like swimming and makes a lot of problems for those who use the river. As a consequence, there is a real important issue in not regarding the condition of the river and there is a flaw.

Last but not least, the author never mentions the size of the river and just suggests using the river for water sport. Surely, if the size of the river be too small or the river is too deep, the people trying to use the river for their filed have a real a bad problem. It is true. Sometimes they can solve this problem by changing the material they used but this solution is not always useful. Hence, there is another problem in this proposal which makes it more weaken.

In conclusion, I do believe the passage has a lot of problems in not stating in some assumptions. Since it speaks about a survey without regarding everything in it and also not speaking about the quality and the size of the river.