In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.

A Survey suggests that residents of mason city prefer water sports as there favorite recreational activity and also has a river at their vicinity which fulfills there requirement for water sports at their disposal, but the contrary is that the river is not used for any sort of recreational activities and instead due to no maintenance it tends to get polluted even though the city park department devotes a little budget of amount for the maintenance of the river for recreational activities, the residents complaints made an impact and the state is planning to clean the river and attract people to the recreational activities offered, which would lead to increase in income as well as the budget of maintenance of recreational facilities. However, before this recommendation is properly evaluated following questions must be answered first.

First and foremost, why is the river polluted at an extent which is leading to complaints to the government, even though it is not used for any sort of activities? If the river is not used for any sort of activities then it should be in pristine condition and should require minimum maintenance and minimum budget. However this might not be the case, there are chances that the residents of the city or the government are responsible for its pollution, because there are chances that the residents tend to throw waste in the river from the banks or the government authorities tend to dispose waste from city industries into the river. If any of this condition is true then it significantly weakens the argument.

Increasing the budget for maintenance for recreational facilities assures the cleanliness of the river and attracts residents to enjoy the recreational facilities but it could also lead to deterioration of the river as due to increased recreational activities there are equal chances of increased pollution in the river as people tend to intentionally or unintentionally pollute the river in one way or the other. This would significantly make the argument tenuously weak.

Finally, would cleaning up the river assure the increase in recreational facilities like water sport in the river? Cleaning the river would assure the solution to the problem of pungent foul smell from the river and make it look good aesthetically but it could not assure the increase in recreational facilities like water sports because There are chances that the river would attract visitors but not specifically for water sports, one would like to spend time in quiescence at the bank of the river which could be categorized in leisure activity. If this is true then the argument does not hold any significance.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above questions and offer more evidence, then only it is able to be evaluated and propose if it is viable or not to clean the river and which would result in increased amount of recreational activity in Mason River.