The well being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

To begin with, everyone in the society coalesces and represents the nation as a whole. The people of the society forms an governments which resembles as an authoritative committee and the committee is formed by peoples mandate so they are responsible for their own vote and should be well aware of their rights. The people of the society plays a cardinal role in effective implementations by the elected authorities. So the statement suggests the questioning the authoritative committee would enhance the well being of the society to which in my opinion I agree and to corroborate it by following reasons.

Firstly, the people of the society have their rights to question the authoritative committee and ask for proofs about how efficiently the committee is committed to their aim to serve the society. For instance, if a municipal corporation commissioner who is responsible for the efficient work of the corporation is asked to provide the bills and proofs of the work carried out under the corporation authority then the commissioner is bound to provide required documents and proofs. To make this hassle free the municipal corporation should be transparent and provide each and every details of the work carried out by them to make the citizens satisfied and eliminate any chances of interrogation.

Additionally, the people of the society should be keen to know the responsibilities of the authoritative committee and always question the authority about their duties. There are chances that the authoritative committee might be into corruption and deceiving the society. The cautious nature of the people of the society would uncover this corrupt deed and the people responsible for this deed would be sentenced accordingly. For instance, if a government scheme to treat people with severe diseases like cancer, tuberculosis etc at a very nominal price which is formed to serve only the people living in below poverty line category. But instead the authorities are allowing people who do not belong to the below poverty line class by asking for some extra money. This way the corrupt authorities deceive people. This could be eliminated if people raise voice against this corrupt deed.

Finally, the well being of a society is in peoples own hands, if they are well aware of their duties and follows the rules mandated by the authorities and having a transparent insight on the authoritative committee. If people does not raise their voices against the authorities then the authorities will take everything for granted and form their own rules which could hinder the societies well being. For example the new motor vehicle act proposed by the center to increase the fine for a traffic offence by 10 times, which is not at all acceptable. Though people should strictly follow the rules but such a hefty fine could damage ones pocket and is not at all acceptable. For this there should be incremental fines on every offence. So the individual does not dare to repeat the offence next time.

So to conclude, as discussed the authorities are formed after peoples mandate and the people have full rights to question the authorities which would help in efficient work of the authorities and enhance the well being of the society as well.