In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument of the given prompt assumes that the Mason City residents’ preference on water sports over other recreational activities will cause an increased demand for riverside recreational facilities once the Mason River is cleaned with the state funding. Although it may be true that founding more riverside recreational facilities can benefit some of the Mason City residents who are enthusiastic in water sports, this argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to lead to increased funding.

Most parts of this article rely on survey results questioning Mason City residents about their favorite recreational activities. However, since the validity of these surveys is never verified, no one can guarantee the validity of the article’s argument either. The prompt does not provide a link to the full surveys, nor does it show how many residents of which age range and social stance the surveys studied. The author will have to show the validity of the surveys before making an assumption that the surveys can prove anything.

Also, when relating the Mason City residents’ demands on water sports facilities with the necessity for more funding, the author does not clarify the benefit of satisfying the needs of the residents. He, or she, quotes the surveys that asked Mason City residents whether they favor water sports over other recreational activities, but shows no evidence that the residents are willing to spend any meaningful budget on water sports. Thus, it is not clear whether more budget on riverside recreational facilities is going to bring an economic benefit to the Mason City government.

Since there is only a limited budget that the city government can utilize in a year, it is a complicated problem to which business and of which portion the government should distribute its budget. Although the given prompt makes a plausible point on that more budget for riverside recreational facilities may cause a few beneficial effects, it fails to persuade its readers to devote more money to riverside recreational facilities.