As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the modern world, people often rely on recent technologies, digital or mechanical, to sustain their daily lives. Frequently, technologies are replacing human intelligence in tasks which, in previous centuries, most human beings were able to manage for themselves. Many skeptic are concerned that human may have been losing the ability to reason and solve problems. They maintain that as the necessity to discern, calculate, or memorize dissipates, human ability to do so may be effaced as well.

Considering how this society has used the boon of technology, however, one can clearly see that human ability to reason will only evolve, but not deteriorate. Although it is true that there exist a few tasks that people do not have to perform for themselves anymore, such as memorizing a friend’s phone number or a driving route to the friend’s house, it requires more intelligence for humans to invent and learn the usage of such tools - iPhone or GPS - that provide such conveniences.

In addition, thanks to the progress in science and technology, a range of everyday life for an average person has increased astonishingly in the past century. Modern people experience far more events in much more various spaces in a shorter period of time than their ancestors would have, traveling conveniently with modern transportation system, or even getting informations from the places they have never visited through internet.

The statement given plausibly pointed out that their are certain functions of human brain that are not required anymore due to the brilliant accomplishment of scientists and engineers. However, since there exist a number of more advanced skills that human brains are required to learn in order to properly utilize cutting-edge technologies, and the same technologies allow more diverse and wealthy information to flow into human brains as input, it is hard to conclude that technologies may let human ability deteriorate. Rather, as people rely more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will improve and adapt for higher tasks.