Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Laws, created and carried out to make a society a safe and just place for its people, require individuals to sacrifice portions of their free wills and to obey social needs. As none of human creations is perfect, however, it is also the responsibility of people to adjust and fix misleading principles and regulations. Under certain circumstances, thus, legal system demands its participants to detect unjust laws and improve them. Although there is no consensus made on what the definition of an ‘unjust’ law is yet, assuming that sufficient discussion and mutual agreement among citizens preceded, one has a responsibility to disobey unjust laws to call for justice.

Above all, refusing to obey rules is the most efficient tool for common citizens to persuade the society's legislative departments and representatives. For a power to abolish or revise unjust laws is solely given to a legislative branch in most of the modern day democratic countries, it is individuals’ responsibility to find and utilize a mean to force the legislatives to head to the right direction. For sure, disobeying schemes of the public would warn the legislatives that the legal system must be enhanced to be sustained.

In addition to that, when a mass of individuals refuse to obey unjust laws, it will prevent the government from punishing the violators of the laws, or at least make the government to think twice before punishing them. When there is a small group of people resisting, it is easy for the government to shut their ears and try to silence the voice of the minorities by castigating. When there are a majority of people speaking against unjust laws, however, it would be their best interest to listen to the voice of the people to compromise.

As stated above, there are many reasons for one to believe that revolting against laws is not only a right, but also a responsibility for individuals. In the light of these considerations, it is apparent that living in a democratic society as an individual companies a duty to disobey and resist unjust laws, along with a duty that is known more widely, which is to obey just laws.