The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument of the author finds the main cause for the inadequate physical fitness of the citizens of Corpora from the recent decline in the economy, and insists that the rebound of the economic situation will enhance the physical fitness level of the citizens in a recent future. While it may be true that a better economy can encourage people to focus more on the quality of life issue rather than the matter of sustaining their lives, this argument is marred with a few misleading or unclear assumptions.

First of all, by claiming that "this year’s unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and service shows that the recent decline in the economy is mostly likely the cause” of the insufficient physical fitness of the citizens, the author assumes that a positive correlation between the amount of expenditures spent on fitness products and services and the actual fitness level. Although the assumption is partially correct on that a budget of a household can blurredly illustrate what interests members of the household have, readers are still left with a room to question if fitness level of an individual will actually be exacerbated when less money is spent on maintaining the fitness level. Many Corpora citizens could have been aware of the easy ways to work out without spending money, such as walking or biking along the Corpora lakeside. In this case, the assumed correlation between household budget for fitness and actual fitness level of the household members will noticeably become ambiguous.

Furthermore, when attributing the diminished level of physical fitness of Corpora citizens to the recent decline in the economy, the author of the prompt implies that the health condition of Corpora citizens started to get worsen with the beginning of the economic fall. In the prompt, however, no other statistics on the health condition of Corpora citizens is given than the current one and the other one from the 1990s. Since readers are only given the statistics from before and after the economic fall, it is unclear whether the deterioration of the Corpora citizens’ overall fitness level actually happened at the same time with the depression mentioned. It is even possible, to be extreme, that the lowered fitness level of the citizens, who consist the center and major part of the state labor force, caused the economic crisis.

To sustain a healthy and productive society, it is very crucial to maintain a certain average level of fitness among its citizens. For Corpora, of course, it is important to figure out the cause for the drop of the citizens’ average physical fitness level. The author of the prompt has succeeded in providing one possible and seemingly plausible cause for the drop among many others, but she failed to prove that the fitness levels of the citizens will automatically follow when the economic situation is restored.