In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The state has finally responded to the incessant complaints of Mason city residents regarding the quality of the water and the bad smell emanating from the Mason River as they announce plans to clean up the river. Citing the above and the results of surveys depicting water sports as people's favorite recreational activities, it is argued that the city government must invest more money in order to facilitate riverside recreational activities. While the argument is noble, it is filled with loopholes and rests on questionable assumptions.

In a survey, water sports comes out as the favorite recreational activities of the people of Mason city. However, the reliability of the survey remains questionable. The argument does not provide information about the number of people who participated in it or whether it covered all age groups across all localities. The investment from city government would require the survey to be representative of the public opinion. Accepting an undue survey would lead to wastage of government funds as well as potentially disrupt other functions due to a skewed budget.

Even if the survey were to be accepted, does this mean that the people would make use of the facilities? Perhaps their jobs take out a lot of time out of their schedule, rendering it impossible for them to enjoy water sports. It would be unwise to expect old aged people to use the facility. A survey aimed at gathering occupational and age related information would suffice. If the assumption that people would pursue riverside recreational activities with enthusiasm turns out to be unwarranted, money invested would be tantamount to money wasted.

In addition, the argument assumes that cleaning up the river would undeniably pave way for riverside recreational activities. However, it would largely depend on the scale and scope of cleaning up task. It might not free the river from deleterious materials completely, hence, human activities might still be unadvised. Moreover, a deeper knowledge of topography and characteristics of river would be required. Rocky beds might render the river unfit for such activities. Depth, slope of the river and average speed of river currents must be studied to ensure safety. An unjustified assumption might pose a threat to people's lives. This concern must be paramount.

In sum, it is laudable that the state is planning to cleanse the Mason river but a government investment to enable riverside water sports is not justifiable due to faulty assumptions. Conducting proper surveys to know people's interest and their propensity to enjoy water sports aimed at every region of the city must be carried out. Topographical study of the river as well as the efficacy of the cleaning up task must also be taken into account to steer towards an intelligent decision.