The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of a health product store chain, Health Naturally, plans to build a new store in Plainsville for the inhabitants are believed to be motivated to live a healthy life. However, the argument is replete with holes and questionable assumptions, neglects a range of factors, confounds sales with profitability, and thus, is not strong enough to support launching a new store at Plainsville.

Health Naturally has previously experienced profits in areas where the population was highly health conscious. Citing this, they plan to replicate profitability in Plainsville which they believe has many such residents. This fails to quantify "many" and thus, is vague. How many is "many"? Is it enough for a store like Health Naturally to generate profits at expected(average) sales? In addition, merchant reports from Plainsville of all-time high sales of running shoes and exercise equipment point towards high number of health conscious residents. This conclusion is flawed. High sales might be because of a bulk buyer or rebuys from same customer.

Even if the aforementioned number favors Health Naturally, the argument falls short of covering other factors which might have led to profitability in such areas. What if there was little or no competition for Health Naturally? What was the economic status and propensity to pay of the locality? A deeper knowledge of the potential customers will set the argument on a relatively sound footing.

What motivates Health Naturally is the success of local health club which, once, almost went out of business. However, one might think of the club as a competition or barrier to entry for Health Naturally. The club seems to be popular with the people, the very people Health Naturally aims their products at. Bolstered by a five year experience in the area, they might hinder Health Naturally's growth in the locality. The possibility of the club being a competitor must be addressed by collecting information on the operations of the club.

Finally, the vice president thinks of adding schoolchildren to the category of its customers. The basis of this decision being a program students participate in which preaches the benefits of regular exercise. It is nowhere mentioned that the program promotes consumption of health products to children. It might be the opposite. The objectives of the program must be considered to arrive at a decision.

The vice president's plan to launch a new store in Plainsville is undeniably well intentioned. However, the argument failed to take into account the number of interested customers as well as existing competition in the area.