The following appeared in an article in the Grandview Beacon.

"For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Given such developments, some city commissioners argue that the symphony can now be fully self-supporting, and they recommend that funding for the symphony be eliminated from next year's budget."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the article claims that few Grandview city commissioners are considering retraction of subsequent year's funding for the Grandview Symphony as they believe it can sustain on its own. The basis of their decision being multifold escalation of private contributions as well as attendance at one of the events. As plausible as their contention might seem, it rests on shaky assumptions.

The officials assume that a 200% increase in the private contributions would be sufficient to organize and manage the symphony. However, it would be imprudent to arrive at such a statement without comparing the total funding and total expenditure. Moreover, what do we know about the actual amount received through private contributions? It might range from $1 to $1 million, 200% of which amounts to, $2 and $2 million, respectively. We just do not know. It is imperative to carry out a cost analysis by inputting actual numbers rather than talking about percentages. It would give the officials a better idea of how things would pan out if they remove their contribution.

Another assumption that the officials make is that last year's two-fold boosted attendance at one of the symphony's events would replicate in the coming year, strengthening their claim. However, this assumption remains hollow as we do not know how many people attended the event as well as the number of people who would be coming next year. For example, doubling an attendance of 2 people would not result in a significant boost. Moreover, we cannot predict next year's attendance based on previous year's numbers. Furthermore, we cannot ascribe this increase in attendance alone, to the symphony. Perhaps it was the visit of an eminent personality that garnered so much attention. Gathering deeper knowledge about the actual increase in attendance as well as to why it happened might place the officials on a strong footing.

Finally, the commissioners assume that even though there has been an increase in the ticket price, the symphony would experience a considerable footfall, next year, rendering it to be self-reliant. Nevertheless, this assumption fails to drive its point home. There are no hard numbers to assess the increase in the ticket prices. The original price as well as the increased price have not been mentioned in order to facilitate a comparison between them. Given the aforementioned numbers, the commissioners would easily be able to judge whether the price set was reasonable or not, which in turn would ultimately decide the attendance next year.

In view of the above, the decision of the commissioners to stop funding the symphony next year was bereft of sound assumptions. It would be of great help to the commissioners to base their decision on a number driven approach.