Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

In a long list of governments' objectives all around the globe, improving the quality of education takes undeniable priority. Many democratic countries have abided by the right to education which recognizes a right to free, accessible primary education to all for the students of today are envisaged as the leaders and pioneers of tomorrow. This paves way for the provision of free college and university education to all students. However, I believe this is a quixotic thought which can potentially disrupt economy and defeat its own purpose.

It is incumbent on the government of a nation to enhance their global, social and economic status. Improvement in education system is one of the important steps in this path towards progress. However, making the college and university level education free could cause economic imbalance. Education at a higher level doesn't come at a meagre cost to the government. Educational institutes need to be equipped with state of the art infrastructure, laboratories, top quality faculties, maintenance and security which costs a tremendous amount of money. As a result, the government might have to compromise its budget on other subjects of national importance. If such facilities are made free, the government and it's policies would cripple as it would hinder the nations' progress in remaining part of the spectrum.

Moreover, chargeless college education would abate the education quality. Government bodies responsible for running educational institutes would tend to opt for inexpensive laboratories or sub par professors in order to curb the expenses. As a result, the research work which is considered to be the backbone of a college reputation, would suffer. Students might lose interest due to the professors' incompetence. Under these circumstances, the move might prove to be adverse for a growing nation.

Admittedly, one might argue that free college education would prove to be a fair system as it would open the gates for a larger proportion of the population. It would undeniably be extremely beneficial for those who couldn't afford education before. But the cost of free education would be too great for the government. The officials would tend to cut the expenses degrading the quality of education. Providing scholarships is a great way to acknowledge deserving students who can't afford education.

In sum, the argument to provide free college and university education to all seems to be quite far-fetched. It would cause slow but grave economic imbalance as well as defeat it's own purpose being detrimental to the education system.