The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built.

The argument covers the what, where, why, when, and how. This provides the reader with enough information to visualize the situation at hand but not enough to take a clear stand. Moreover, evaluating the argument requires more facts and figures to be incorporated along with some logical reasoning and emotional reasoning.

A very good premise is to state more about the tufted groundhog, its lifecycle, and its role in wildlife. This will allow the reader to develop an emotional connection with the tufted groundhog thereby strengthening the argument in its favor. It would benefit the writer to include more facts and figures. One possible evidence would be to mention the repeal of the status of which other sanctuaries, apart from eastern carpenteria, resulted in a decline in the wildlife population. In contrast, how did that act benefit the state or the people living there? Providing these figures will easily help the reader take a decision on the argument. This could strengthen or weaken the argument respectively based on the nature of the figures provided.

Another evidence would be to provide logical statements as to how building the road will be beneficial for the state and can compensate for the harm that will be caused to the tufted groundhog. The writer can also oppose the above by mentioning how building the road along the edge of the wetlands is unnecessary and providing alternate strategies in accomplishing the motive of building a road while also saving the precious tufted groundhog. This will allow the reader to think logically with all the information at hand and choose the most optimal solution.