The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The claim made by the author states that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. It's a well known fact that the youth of today will be the leaders of tomorrow who will set an example for generations to come and guide them to glory. It's thereby important that these budding leaders grow up with the right moral values and have a sense of unity and cooperation instead of competition. Thereby, I agree with the author's claim.

Unhealthy competition between leaders never ends well and should be discouraged from a young age itself. A perfect example for this is world wars. World War 1 and World War 2 are two of the most tragic events in history and both of them stemmed from the competition between leading nations. It was a race for arms, a competition for the title of most powerful nation. The result was the destruction of many lives and properties, effects of which are seen till date. However, if our past leaders were cooperative and had put their resources together then the world would have been a much better place today. The same applies to not only nations but also industries or any other field. This proves that youth must be taught to cooperate instead of compete so that they can grow up to effective leaders.

A sense of cooperation brings people together in unity. It's important for people to feel connected and in sync with their leader, and work towards a common goal instead of competing for unnecessary things like money, power, fame etc. This mindset should be developed from a young age. By cooperating, leaders can pull in resources and achieve so much more than what they can alone. For instance, two managers of a company that are fighting for the same project. Instead of competing, it would benefit them to share resources and complete the project together. It's a win-win situation for all. This can be applied to leader's of all fields. This shows that a cooperative nature is a must for the leaders of tomorrow.

That being said, people may argue that competition is necessary for people to grow. There needs to be comparision between two people. Granted, there needs to be a motivation to work hard to win, but I disagree that competition is required. Cooperation alone can be enough to encourage leaders to work hard and do well.

In conclusion I would like to support the author's statement and justify that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition