The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

For generations, a musician's talent has been wrongly tied with their popularity. Owing to this natural yet inappropriate connection one can only accurately assess a musician's work many years later post their death so that fame doesn't interfere with one's honest judgment. Popular musicians always tend to grow more popular. It's analogous to newton's first law of motion, "An object in motion or rest, will continue to be in motion or rest unless acted upon by an external force." A popular musician's talent will always be assumed to be the best by the audience irrespective of his or her real talent. It is human to follow the norm and behave as others do in order to fit in, but not ideal.

Take, for example, Michael Jackson. He was an extremely popular musician back in the 90s who was loved by many, children and adults alike. It's been nearly a decade since his death and he is now remembered for his popularity, not his work. He is only remembered for his fame and for the songs that everyone loved once upon a time, but not because his work was a mark of great talent. This crystallizes the fact that fame does interfere with one's judgment of talent. In contrast, there are great musicians out there whose music is nectar for the human ear but they are lesser known and hence assumed to be untalented.

The talent of a musician or even an artist should only be judged based on their honest work not by how known or loved they are by the crowd. The crowd could simply be misguided by other factors or as mentioned before, a result of herd mentality. The death of a popular musician is a big hit to the music industry and the fame left behind is eventually nothing but a memory. Once fame, popularity, and herd mentality are out of the picture a musician's real talent can be assessed and brought to justice with zero influence.