An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

It is mandatory for a doctor to record all his treatments of a medical condition for the benefit of the clinic as we all as the patient. If need be, they can refer to it in the future and resolve conflicts. But there is another use for these records. An ailing patient can access the doctor's previous records of treating similar patients to get more clarity on the condition, to get an idea of what the future holds and instil confidence in the patient. This will help the patient make a decision on whether to be treated by that doctor or not.

By having easy access to previous records the patient can get an idea of what exactly the ailment is and what are it's symptoms. Each record will have a detailed report on the patients symptoms and possible factors that contributed to the medical condition. For example, previous patients of the flu could have various symptoms like cold, cough, and fever and information on how he or she may have contracted it. By viewing these records, a prospective patient can get a high level understanding of the condition and it's symptoms.

Having various perspectives of the treatment of the given medical condition can mentally prepare the patient for the treatment and it's outcome. After reading all previous records, the prospective patient can know what are all the possible treatments for their medical condition and what side effects each of them could have. They will have an idea of it's disadvantages and advantages. For example, taking medicines for a flu may result in insomnia, weight gain or headache in certain people.

Through gaining access to the records, the ailing patient would then be able to take an informed decision on the doctors competency to treat the given medical condition. The prospective patient will have all information regarding the successfull treatments and also the reasons why a treatment may have been unsucessful. With these precedents they can compare their own situation and evaluate whether the doctor will be able to treat their medical condition or not.

These records could have the success rate of the doctor and how competent he is in treating a particular medical condition. All in all I strongly agree that a patient should have access to previous records of the doctor treating a similar patient. This will instill confidence in the patient regarding the doctor's capabilities