The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the memo recommends that the super screen movie production company must invest more in advertising their movies to reach a wider audience. They also mention that in the past year while fewer people attended the movie screening, the percentage of positive movie reviews had increased. The author believes that the problem isn't that the quality of the movie but that it isn't reaching enough public, which is why they should allocate a good chunk of the budget in advertising. However there isnt enough substantial evidence to support the argument and the recommendation made based on it.

Firstly, the author assumes that the positive movie reviews from reviewers is legitimate and concludes that the movie content is not the problem. However, It is possible that serious critics who would've given negative reviews did not attend super screen produced movies, or a large number of negative reviews were not submitted, but that doesnt prove that there were no negative reviews. In other words, the data collected may be biased and may represent only a fraction of the audience. The claim can be supported only if there is evidence that the research includes normalized data from the entire audience containing a variety of unbiased viewers.

Moreover, the author prematurely assumes that the movie wasnt advertised enough to reach the public. There is however a possibility that the public was aware of the movie but still did not watch it. This could be because of a number of reasons, maybe the content did not appeal to them, maybe they preferred another movie or they simply did not want to watch it. So it is unjustified for the author to allocate more budget so that more advertising can to be done unless there is statistical data to prove that a majority of the public wasn't aware of super screen-produced movies.

Lastly, In previous years enough people attended the movies produced by the same comany with the same advertising budget. So it doesn't make sense for the author to assume that the past year was any different solely due to advertising. If advertising was the issue there must be facts and figures to prove this. For example a graph of the amount of budget allocated for advertising over the years.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. Unless substantial evideence is provided the argument and thereby the recommendation cannot be supported.