The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument presented by the manager states that they recently devoted more time to presenting national news on their late-night program. He/She concludes that they must devote more time to weather and local news instead in order to revive the lost viewership. He/She also mentioned how most of the complaints recieved off late were regarding the weather and local news only. Morover, Advertisers have canceled their contracts with them.

The author states that decline in viewership is a result of the lack of time devoted to weather and local news and there is strong evidence provided in support of this assertion. Viewership was high in the late night programs when they would display good weather and local news. Ever since they started focussing on national news, the number of viewers decreased and the number of complaints increased. This clearly proves that the audience prefers local news to national news. Which supports the arguement to restore time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

The author states that advertisers have cancelled constracts that were previosuly in place when late night weather and local news was displayed. He informs that since advertisers revoked their contracts declined, it is a blow to their revenue. Advertisers would prefer a platform that is available to a wide range of audience. It is clear that since the number of views interested in watching the news in the late night program decreased, the advertisers saw no benefit in their platform.

While some may argue that there is no correlation between the complaints recieved, the loss of viewer and advertizers with the the national news, it is evident that it is no coincidence. The author is right in their decision to devote more time to local and weather news rather than national news. This will not ony increase viewer count but also bring back advertising revenue.