Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The opinion posed takes the stand that resources should be invested in ummanned space flight as opposed to manned space flight. The author states that manned space flight is not only costly and risky but also unescessary.

The author justifies his reason for manned space flight as unecessary by stating that in recent times unmanned space machines and satelites have provided useful information without the need of human guidance or supervision. However there is no comparision between the kind of information a satellite can provide versus the insight a human would be able to gather when in space. The argument strongly relies on the assertion that space probes can gather an equal amount or more useful information than a manned space flight.

One of the strongest points demostrated by the author is the fact that manned space flight consumes a lot of resources and is thereby costly. The author has not backed this assumption with numbers and provided statistics on how much capital is spent on a manned space flight in contrast to an unmanned space flight. There is also no mention of the amount of money and resources that is spent in developing and mantaining unmanned space flight. A proper comparision of cost requirements has not been depicted between the two which weakens the argument.

The author assumes that manned space flight is risky and dangerous. There is no evidence provided to the readers to support this. Some strong evidence would include incidents that took place in history that posed a threat to the humans on board or even proved to be fatal. But without such conclusive evidence, one cannot say for certain that manned space flight is dangerous. One may even argue that since unmanned space flight heavily relies on technolgy it could be less secure.

In conclusion, with solid evidence the author's argument is justified and one can surely say that resources should be invested in unmanned space flights rather than manned space flight. This will not only save valuable resources but also human lives. However, without proper evidence supporting the argument, it is biased, and not strong enough to take a clear stand.