Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument states that Dr. Karp interview based research is more reliable as compared to Dr. Field’s observation based approach and further research should be conducted based of Dr. Karp methodology to obtain more reliable statistics . Stated in this way the argument fails to provide the evidence based on which it can be evaluated . The argument considers certain assumption which remains clearly flawed until the following questions are answered :

Firstly ,whether the research conducted by Dr. Field twenty years ago holds true on the current scenario ? In other words what if the practice that prevailed twenty years ago has be abolished and the children are now reared by their biological parents . In that case children talking more about their biological parents is no way surprising in this study . In this case the arguments conclusion about Dr. Fields observation –centered research is no way undermined . But , both of the anthropologists observations are correct .

Secondly , What if the children are constantly told about their biological parents and their achievements to inculcate some qualities into them? In that case the children even when they are reared by others may tend to lionize their biological parents to make an impression on the interviewer . Further more , they may tell the folk stories they have been told about their parents by others. They come to know more about their parents’ qualities and stories and thus talk more about them . In this case also the argument is considerably weakened .

In conclusion, the argument fails to establish a clear picture of the study conducted on the island of Tertia . And with these pertaining questions unanswered it is not possible to evaluate whether the conclusion presented holds water. The author must provide data based on systematic research to answer these questions only then the argument can be strengthened .