Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Through Dr.Karp claim may well have merit, it presents poorly reasoned assertion. Based on several doubtful premises and assumptions, and depended on evidences provided, it is prudent to justify the validity of Dr.Karp case.

Obvious issue concerned is that interview-centered study of Dr.Karp was conducted in a group of island included Tertia while claim of Dr.Field research was regulated exclusively in Tertia. If Tertia population accounted for an insignificant percentage compared to the whole population, two claims of the professors which seem ostensibly identical at first actually turn ou...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.