To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Main cities of a country often embrace a number of characteristics of citizens and life styles in that nation. Nevertheless, in order to understand the most critical traits of a society, studying its primary cities is not sufficient.

The most obvious issue people concerned is that many biggest cities in Asia, because of modernization, have lost their traditional values lasted thousand years ago. The fact that workers nowadays can easily enjoy their meal in Western restaurant and fast food store rather than prepare their national meals due to hectic schedule illustrates the extinct of traditional cuisine in major cities. The life styles, for illustrations in China, being heavily affected by Western culture tend to be more freedom in personal desires present falsely the society once restricted by heavy moral and ethics.

In addition, provinces, small cities, particularly villages are the best places where the most essential aspects of a society are preserved. A fact that festivals in Vietnam, such as Hung Kings’ anniversaries, are stills celebrated in formal condition in Northern provinces perfectly exemplifies the idea that 2000-year-festival is thriving in smaller cities. Moreover, a number of traditional activities are still alive in villages of Vietnam such as fireworks in Lunar New Years Eve, community house for social judge because of lower constrict from authority, which is never allowed in huge city.

Nonetheless, some metropolitan cities around the world can show quite well an important aspect of its country. New York, one of the largest cities worldwide, is famous for its economical thrives reflected through Walls Street or Trade Centers. In fact, many American agreed that New York is the center of the United States’ economics while Washington where White House, Congress and Pentagon are located shows political face of America.

Generally speaking, although few cities can let people understand the most critical attribute of a society, it is unwise to figure out the most important characteristics of society by learning from its major cities.