The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

A cafe integrated into a shop of books deems to be a beneficial idea. The recommendation, nonetheless, which Monarch should have its own cafe is derived from apocryphal assumptions.

The most obvious point is whether readers coming to Monarch bookstore have needs to enjoy coffee. A very common habit proved this argument is that many people pore their views over their favorite books at home after purchase. In addition, a noticeable amount of books which are read rather than bought can detrimental affect the profit of Monarch, which greatly depends on the book sales. Board of Directors of Monarch Books, in order to corroborate their assumption, should provide more statistics that buyer of their bookstore plan to spend on their books and coffee together.

Another questionable argument is that the intention of dismiss children's book section is hinged upon a significant decrease of the population under age ten. There are many possibilities can influence parents to pay for their children books: economics situations, educational purposes, entertainment,... It is doubtful when one believes that the decline in the percentage of the age group would determine the sales related to this group.

Last but not the least, member of Boards of Monarch Books suggests that opening a cafeteria would urge them, to be more competitive in comparison with Regal Books. The term "better compete" in this argument is clearly ambiguous and can be interpreted in various ways. To be more specific, the recommendation should include more detailed terms so that the argument could be stronger.

Generally speaking, due to the fact that the argument makes several unwanted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that Monarch should establish a canteen to succeed and be more competitive.