Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than

The argument above is rife with holes and weak assumptions. While Dr. Field used an observation-centered approach and Dr. Karp used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices in the island of Tertia, both of their conclusions are prone to error. Even more, comparing the two results while there is a twenty-year gap between them and conducted in different study areas is more fallacious.

First, Dr. Field built his conclusion on observing the children in the village without stating a solid base for his results. For example, how long did his observation last? Did he observe all the children in the village or specific sample? If it was a sample, was the sample representative of the population? And, what was his observation method?. All these questions, if they answered, would make his conclusion more valid. For instance, the observation period might be not long enough to build a conclusion, or he might observe only a group of people on the island and overstated his conclusion.

Second, Dr. Karp used interviews in his research, but again he was lacking crucial information to prove his conclusion such as; how many interviews he conducted? What was the sample selection criteria? Was the sample representative of the population? What were the questions of the interview? How old were the kids he interviewed?. All these questions will determine if the research result is valid and reliable, for instance, if the questions he asked in the interview tend to direct children to talk about their biological parents, then the result of these interviews is doubted and erratic. Also, if the number of the children whom he interviewed was not enough to represent the population, then the results are not comprehensive. Also, the research cannot ignore the age of the children effect on the way they answered his questions, so it is important to demonstrate if he select children with different ages or all of them were the same age. Moreover, the selection of the sample is crucial, retaining a random sample which might not cover the island of Tertia would make the conclusion unreliable.

At last, Dr. Karp's statement that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid is unreasonable. Comparing two results can be considered valid if it answered these questions; What is the percentage of children from Terra island Dr.Karp interviewed in his research? Also, are the cultural values and traditions of all the islands are the same? Most importantly, did the child-rearing practices stayed unchanged for the twenty years difference between the two research?. These questions need to be answered in order to decide whether the argument is reasonable. For instance, while Dr. Karp covered a study area which is larger than Dr. Field covered in his research, their results can be compared if the conditions on the two areas are identical, in other words, the cultures and traditions of the group of islands are alike. Also, the time gap between the two results should not have any influence on the child-rearing practices, to be able to defeat Dr. Field conclusion.

At the end, it is important for the scientific research to be comprehensive, different research methods can be used, but their validity should be approved to consider their result to be true.