Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture

The argument that, based on the interviews conducted, it can be said that Dr Field's conclusion is invalid, is based on flawed assumptions and is therefore, not cogent. It does not take into account many possibilities and does not provide evidence needed to support such assumptions.

Firstly, the argument bases it conclusion on the fact that interviews yielded a result which was different from the result yielded by the first study. Yet, it does not account for how many interviews were conducted or if all children residing on these islands were interviewed. It is possible that out a ten thousand children only hundred were interviewed. Unless evidence is provided which states the number of children interviewed, it would be incorrect and wrong to draw a conclusion from this assumption.

Secondly, the argument also draws its conclusion from the assumption that since the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village, they must not be reared by the village but by their parents. No evidence regarding whether the children talk about them because they long for their company and love is provided. It is possible that the children want to spend more time with their parents and thus talked about what they desired. Unless explicitly stated why they talked about their biological parents more, we cannot conclude that such a child rearing practice did not take place and the first study was invalid.

The argument bases its conclusion on two different studies which were conducted over a span of 20 years. It does not take into account that it is enough time for practices to change. It is possible that when Dr Field visited the child rearing practice differed from when Dr Karp visited. This would have lead Dr Karp to conclude differently. This would not prove Dr Field's conclusion invalid but only state that practices, values have changed on these islands during the last 20 years. Hence it would be wrong to assume that research should be conducted via the interview centered method and not the observation centered method.

The questions stated above will help evaluate the recommendation and based on the answers provided, the recommendation can allow for accomodating new ideas and approaches.Unless specific evidence is provided to re-examine the two studies, both of which are then re-analysed to take into account the time factor and the evidence which is missing, the argument will remain flawed and will lack coherence.