Of the two leading real estate firms in ourtown—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty isclearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; incontrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only inpart-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year wastwice as high as that of Fitch and included home salesthat averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000.Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten yearsago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more thanfour months to sell; last year, when I sold another home,I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, ifyou want to sell your home quickly and at a good price,you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the homeowner claimed that if one wants to sell his or her home quickly and get a good price one should go to Adams realty. To support this claim the homeowner cites following facts. First, Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch only has 25. Besides, Adams 's revenue was higher than Fitch. Based on these facts the homeowner asserts that Admas is superior. The homeowner also points out that with Adam one could sell quickly and get good price than Fitch. However the argument relies on series unsubstantiated assumptions, which rend it unconvincing as it stands.

First of all, the homeowner assumes that the more agents a company has the more superior the company is. However, the author provides no evidence that this is the case. It is possible that the management of Fitch is more effective than Adams so that the company did't need too many people, as Adams did, to keep the firm running. In addition, the fact that Adams last year revenue was twice as high as Fitch does not necessarily mean that Adam is superior to Fitch. It is entirely possible that Fitch focuses on the apartment that is comparatively cheep than Adams. Without ruling out these possible scenarios, the homeowner cannot convince me that Adams is superior.

Even if, Adams is superior. The author could not justifiably rely on the mere fact that the home listed in Adams recently took less time to sell than the home listed in Fitch ten years ago, to support the claim that with Adams one could sell more quickly. Only based on the assumption that all conditions have remain unchanged over ten years. Nevertheless the assumption is unwarranted because things rarely remain the same over extended period years. For example, perhaps there was suffering a great economic depression ten years ago, and the house market was anemic. Accordingly people could hardly afford a new house, but now the economy is revived. Or perhaps, as a result the influx of immigrants the house demand is increased significantly .Or perhaps the recently sold home lies in an advantageous geographical location that is needed by lots of people. Thus, without providing more information about the home condition and the house market, the homeowner cannot convince me that by using Adam a home could be sold quickly.

Finally, the homeowner failed to substantiate the assertion that by using Adams one could get a good price. Neither of above assumptions serves to this claim. The homeowner should list some critical studies or data before making such an assertion.

In conclusion, the claim that if one wants to sell home quickly and at a good price,he or she should use Adams Realty is not well supported. To bolster the claim the homeowner should provide more evidence to substantiate that the Adam is superior to Fitch. Besides, to convince me that using Adams one could sell quickly and get a good price the homeowner should provide more information and credible statistic data about that.