The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument the author has cited some facts and comes to the conclusion that there is no need to build new generating plants. However, the argument is rife with holes and unwarranted assumptions, and hence, not enough strong to buttress the preceded conclusion.

First of all, the argument is based on an assumption that the home owner surveyed is representative of the overall group residents in the city.Yet no evidence has been provided to corroborate that. Perhaps the sample size is very small that not enough to draw the conclusion.Or perhaps, all of these home owners are the member of an environmental protection organization, thereby have a good sense of conserving energy, but the the number of them is no more than 10. Any of these scenarios, if true, will render the survey uncredible.

Secondly, the author set an assumption on the basis of that residents of this city would like to replace their old refrigerators and air conditions with the efficient one. Since there is no piece of evidence to substantiate this assumption, it is possible that the new refrigerators is more expensive than the old that few residents could afford it.

Additionly, the author has taken for granted that the new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating would be useful. However, this is not necessarily the case, the new technologies might not mature enough to put into practice.Finally, even if the author can substantiate all of foregoing assumption, in asserting that it is unnecessary to build new generating plants, the author overlooks the possibility that there are lots of factories that could be responsible for the huge electricity consumption in this city. Even if there is no such kind of factory, the author should provide evidence to rule out the possibility that the demands to electricity of nowadays family have been increased a lot.

To the recapitulate, it is clear that there are still some unexplored avenues in the argument due to which the conclusion is untenable. It would be wise to address those areas prior to setting any firm conclusion ob the matter