32. The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author has cited some facts and comes up to the conclusion that we should short the work shifts to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity. However the argument is rife with holes and unwarranted assumptions, and hence, not strong enough to buttress the preceded conclusion.

First of all, the argument is based on a questionable assumption that the shorter shifts of work is the reason why Quiot Manufactuting(QM) has lesser on-the-job accidents. Yet the author failed to provide any piece of evidence to corroborate that. Nevertheless the two things occur at the same time,it does not necessary means that the comparatively lesser accident of QM is due to the shorter work shifts. It is possible that QM has far lesser employees than Panply Industries(PI). Or, perhaps QM has changed its machine which contributes lots to the accidents. Any of these scenarios, if true, would serve to undermine the claim that the with the shorter shifts of work, accidents might become fewer.

The author has further set his conclusion on the basis of the expert's claim. Since there is no evidence to substantiate the credibility of these words, it is entirely possible that the author makes it up in order to make the argument more plausible. Even if the author does not make up the words, there still needs more information about the background of the experts to justify whether the claim is credible, after all the vice president use lots of vague words,such like 'say', 'many'.

Finally, in asserting that PI should shorten each of work shifts by one hour to ensure adequate sleep of the employees, the vice president overlooks the possibility that the worker would spend the time to play with their friends or make company with their family other than sleep. Even if they do get adequate sleep, that does not necessarily means that the accidents will decrease and thereby increase productivity.

To recapitulate, it is clear that there are still some unexplored avenues in the argument due to which the conclusion seems untenable. It would be wise to address those areas prior to setting any firm conclusion on the matter.