The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument the author has cited some facts and comes to the conclusion that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night. However, the argument is rife with holes and unwarranted assumptions, and hence, not string enough to buttress the precede conclusion.First of all, the argument is based on a questionable assumption that the survey is reliable. Since no evidence is offered to substantiate this assumption, the survey methodology might be problematic. For example, we are not informed whether these firms in this study were comprehensive enough in order to draw the association. If each of them has high profit than those not been involved, then for any advertising executives studied,no mater how much time he or she had spent in sleep, their company's profit correspondingly would be always 'high profit'.

Additionally, the assumption is untenable that the executives who reported need no more than 6 hours of sleep per night were representative of the executives generally. The author fails to provide any evidence about the percentage of these executives. Perhaps there was just only one in 300. If this is the case the author's conclusion would be undermined.

Finally, the author has further set his conclusion on the basis of that hiring people who only need less than 6 hours of sleep would make the firm prosper by itself. Yet no evidence is offered to substantiate this assumption. A myriad of factors other than sleep time, including the personal ability and the market situation, even government policy, might just as likely be the cause of prospering business. Without ruling out these and other possible causes, the author cannot justifiably assert that hiring only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night could make business prosperous.

To recapitulate, it is clear that there are still some unexplored avenues in the argument due to which the conclusion seems untenable. It would be wise to address those areas prior to setting any firm conclusion on the matter.