TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In my childhood, my grandpa used tell me tons of stories about their "good old days". They have all been etched deep in my mind. I would never forget them, ever down to the smallest details. Those stories illustrated that teachers always got good reputations in society. Realizing this, I strongly convinced that teachers were more likely recognized by society than today.

Foremost, people’s average educational level was lower in those days than now. The majority of people did not have much education. Therefore, it is no wander that teacher, as the little group of literate individuals, could be valued by society. For example, teachers used to have some kinds of privilege in their daily life. Neighbors always provide all sorts of convenience to them. It could be happened in the past that you could have free breakfast in the way to school if you were a teacher. On the contrary, with the help of modernization, the economy has improved dramatically so have the education environment. Teacher are not rare any more.

In addition, to be a teacher was never an easy case. Books used to be expansive resource. It is hard to produce. Besides, most of people were experiencing poverty and starvation. Everybody seems to be fighting for survival. The poor financial condition allowed no time for them to reading books. Since the resource in the past was very limited, one must pay gigantic efforts to acquire knowledge. Therefore, teachers would be readily recognized by the society. By contrast, todays' society endows people with various of education resources. Education materials are no longer expansive resulting from the development of computer and internet technology. Moreover, we can learn from Couresera, a free online education platform, just sitting in font of the computer screen at home.

Admittedly, in some remote area, teachers still maintain a significant social status. However, with the development of economy and trend of globalization, the education environment is getting improved. And, for the population as a whole, teachers are less appreciated by the society.

In a way, some modern social changes have been detrimental factors in teacher's identification in society. Despite such a cruel reality, there are still some instance of teacher who are constantly be appreciated by local society. When missing those good old days, it is advisable, for my opinion, to pay more attention to the education of our next generation, teaching them to learn to respect their teacher. After all, education was the cornerstone of the development of our human beings so does its major conductor.