Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The station manager of KICK argues that they should make use of more call-in advice programs to increase its audience base. He or she uses the WCQP’s success in doing so and a nationwide statistic that many listeners are interested in such programs. While this evidence is somewhat convincing, the manager has failed to address four questions that are crucial to assessing this recommendation.

Firstly, does a nationwide statistic apply to Medway’s population? While the manager assumes that it does, this may not necessarily hold true. For instance, it is possible that people in Medway are not at all interested in call-in advice programs. They may find such programs to be insipid and annoying. Instead, they perhaps may be interested in hearing about stories, news, gossip, or music. Without assessing this population’s interests (e.g. through a survey), one cannot truly determine if the results of nation-wide survey apply to Medway.

Similarly, the question of whether WCQP’s success story in Rockville would apply to KICK in Medway also arises. The prompt’s author adopts a facile approach as he/she assumes this to be true. Yet, this assumption may not hold water if the conditions that led to WCQP’s success are not replicated in both Medway and KICK’s audience. For instance, it is possible that mostly young people are interested in such programs. Perhaps, Medway’s population is more skewed towards seniors. Hence, it is possible that this program would be a debacle for KICK given Medway’s demographics. It is also possible that people in Medway are simply not interested in such a program. For example, their interests may lie in talk shows. Should these scenarios have any merit, then it would be imprudent to invest in such a program.

Furthermore, even if the previous two assumptions hold true, one must ask if KICK would be able to economically set up such a program. From the prompt, it seems the manager has not addressed the cost-side of investing in this program. Yet, this is a crucial aspect to any venture as several aspects must be considered. For instance, it is possible that KICK lacks the skillset to run such a program. If so, then the manager may have to hire more radiohosts and equipment. If the costs of running such a program exceed the benefits (i.e. increased revenue and larger audience base), it is hard to defend the manager’s recommendation.

Finally, are call-in advice programs the best way for KICK to increase its audience base? By assuming that they are, the manager seems to have adopted a parochial approach. However, it is important to be broad-minded and consider if other more lucrative ways to foster this base exist. To do so, this essay argues that the station should conduct a survey and ask its audience about their interests. Perhaps, the survey results would suggest that KICK should continue to invest more in what they are currently providing (e.g. talk shows, or sports-related content). Should this be the case, then this would likely be a more economical option compared to creating new call-in programs.

In summary, the manager’s argument, as it stands now, is flawed as it has failed to address key questions. Should the manager provide pertinent evidence regarding these questions, one can better assess the viability of his or her recommendation. Until then, it would be sagacious to not invest in the program given that the recommendation rests on several unwarranted assumptions.