Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call- in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

As recommended by the station manager of KICK, the radio station WCQP after increasing the call-in advice programs enjoys larger radio audience and the survey also supports it, thus to increase the audience in Medway the KICK should adopt the same strategy. This recommendation is based on a lot of unwarranted assumptions and lack of exhaustive research thus the following questions are to be answered before adopting the recommendation of station manager of KICK.

Firstly, the station manager is too quick to assume that the increase in call-in advice program is the only reason to increase the audience share in WCQP radio station. The answer to : What are the role of other factors like timing of program, other gift hampers, lack of competitors etc ? are not revealed in the argument. Perhaps the Rockville area has closed all of other radio stations due to strict rule and increase in tax and people had no other option to listen any other radio program. Perhaps the Rockville has the best presentator and audio quality which serve for the increase of the audience number. Thus any of this is true then the recommendation will not hold true.

Secondly, the station manager presumes that the nation wide survey result would hold true for the station KICK in Medway. What are the bases that ensure the survey result would hold true? Was the number of survey participants significant enough? Was the survey representative of the Medway city?. Perhaps the survey result was tainted as the questionairres of the survey was misleading. Perhaps the participants were not inclusive they comprised of the people from Rockville region who patronizes the call-in advice program.

Lastly, the station manager assumes that the consumer behavior of the Rockville and Medway are the same. The questions like : What are the programs favorite to the Medway people, the favorable time schedule of program, the content of program etc ?. Perhaps the Medway people are more into television and internet programs thus increasing the call-in program would not increase the radio audience.

To conclude, the recommendation of the station manager is faulty at best and thus a lot of questions are to be answered to know the feasibility of the manager's recommendation.