The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"A recent national survey found that the majority of workers with access to the Internet at work had used company computers for personal or recreational activities, such as banking or playing games. In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Using electronic monitoring software is the best way to reduce the number of hours Climpson employees spend on personal or recreational activities. We predict that installing software to monitor employees' Internet use will allow us to prevent employees from wasting time, thereby increasing productivity and improving overall profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The vice president claims that Climpson Industries should adopt internet monitoring to improve overall productivity and increase the revenue of the company. He justifies his argument by the assumptions that 1) employee’s personal use of internet wastes time at work and has considerate impairment on work efficiency, and 2) internet surveillance will prevent time wasting and finally enhance productivity. These reasons implicate several questions that need to be addressed.

First and foremost, the extent of workers’ malpractice and the consequent effect on working efficiency should be demon...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.