"We are spending too much on free customer service after a sale has been made; we need to limit our warranty to two years in order to improve our profit margins. The current lifetime warranty can lead to costs decades into a product's life cycle. Also, we pay our customer service employees a premium because they must possess expert skills across the entirety of our very diverse product line, including products we no longer sell."

The author of the memo has come to the conclusion that to increase the companies profit margin that the company has to stop providing free life time warranty and limit the warranty to two years. The author has made an argument that is not very well thought out and depends on several assumptions while not taking into account the circumstances that may actually hurt the company's profit. If these issues were resolved and further evidence was presented, the argument may be strengthened.

The first flaw in the authors argument is that the authour assumes that potential customers are not persuade...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.