We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the

In this excerpt, the author outrightly claims that if they do not recieve the extra 10% money, the movie is sure to fail. In the first look, this might seem to be one of the outcomes of the movie, but to understand this scenario further, one has to deep dive into the details and understand all the individual entities affecting the success of the movie.

Firstly, the author states that the first-time director they are working with has a previous experience only in the advertising agency, and hence would not be cogizant of the time constraints under which a film is made. This is an extremely generic statement to make with no evidence to prove it. There could be a scenario that the shampoo industry he comes from worked under a tight budget constraint which could afford only two to three takes of a scene. Understanding the director's working style is extremely important to help the movie be a success. The actors, producers and the crew must function accordingly, and such baseless assumptions do not help solve any core issues here.

Secondly, it is definitely a cost saver that the assistant producers and directors are paid a slightly lower salary, but assuming that they would have work overtime for long durations is not supported by any evidence. To strengthen this claim, log sheets or timetables of daily shooting schedules would be helpful. This is a assertion based on the assuption that the assistant directors and producers would not have the arrangements ready in time. Judging the skillset of the of the relatively inexperienced assistant directors, based solely on their number of years of experience- without having any knowledge of their previous working dynamics is not a right conclusion to make.

In addition to this, there is no mention of why a funding of only 10% is required to prevent the movie from being a failure. Moreover, the criteria of this movie being a 'failure' is not explained. Failure could be related to bad reviews, low gross collections, bad direction, script or acting. Some of these might be tackled with the extended budget, while some would surely not be changed. Hence, a detailed plan of how and where the money investments would go, and more importantly if they would play a hand in improving the movie to prevent it from being a 'failure' would be a good evidence to back this claim.

In conclusion, a variety of to evidence is required to strengthen the claim of getting an extra 10% fund. Many of the claims are completely generic statements, which are neither backed on any emperical data, nor proof. The caliber of the director, producers and crew is also judged without any prior knowledge, and is purely based on assumptions. To critically evaluate the success or failure of the film, a detailed action plan as well as information about the working entities should be kept in mind.