Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

What does truly define the responsibilities of a good corporation? While some may contend that their main objective is to mint money, others support that these companies should be responsible for promoting well being of the society and environment as well. I believe that while adhering to the country’s laws, a corporation ought to promote well being of the environment.

It would not be wrong to say that the 21st century is one of the most precarious eras in the history of human life. With global warming and pollution burgeoning across the globe, it is high time that we as citizens take precautionary measures to preempt the detrimental issues are Earth is facing. The glaciers are melting at a drastic rate, the sea temperatures are rising and the air quality in some places are even below healthy living conditions. Hence, in addition to the goals of the business, every individual must be evangelists of sustainability and well being of the environment.

Firstly, I am an upholder of giving back to the society. We all, as humans owe a great deal to the environment we live in, and the least we can do is ensure a salubrious environment to live in. While making money is equally important, it should not be done at the cost of society’s well-being. I believe that SpaceX is a quintessential example to elucidate this further. Elon Musk, the billionaire owning SpaceX and Tesla is working in a way never seen before to make the Earth a great planet to live on. His radical approach and visionary strategies to tackling problems of fuel shortage, global warming and road congestion are changing the way humans are going to live 25 years from not. The Tesla electric cars belong to some of the most elite brands in the world, and while the company is making millions, these cars are environment-friendly and work solely on electricity, reducing the air pollution by a huge 76%. The Hyperloop is changing the face of transportation, using energy efficient equipment and reduce travel time drastically.

Secondly, I believe that no matter what field the company works in, the onus of setting a good example is on the corporation itself. Google, which was born as a search engine 20 years ago is working to build devices and gadgets which aid the disabled and striving to make their experiences in the world joyful and easy. Their technologies tackle multiple problems: from accessible screen reading modes for the visually challenged to self-driving cars and bikes for the people with walking disabilities, and being a technology giant, they set a brilliant example to look up to for other companies as well.

In conclusion, I believe that if we as a human race want to survive on this planet for the next century, every individual should support the initiative of promoting environmental and societal well being. Every mission begins with a small step, and no matter what the goal of the corporation is, it should not risk the environmental in any way.