The first step to self-knowledge is the rejection of the familiar.

What truly is the standing of our self-knowledge? Is it the morals and values embedded deep inside our conscious or is it the culmination of events and circumstances in our surroundings. While there are diverse theories to explain the enigmatic concept of self-knowledge, I truly believe that the best way to getting our own self is through meditation. Being at peace with oneself and deep diving into our deepest fears, qualms and dealing face on with our problems. Hence, it is truly leaving behind our biases of the world, i.e moving away from the familiar and exploring life with a new pair of eyes.

Let us take the example of the Indian god, Buddha. Buddha was born to a rich king in the Indian dynasty and was named Siddharth. He was cosseted in his luxurious palace and had all the luxuries from scrumptious food to servants at his doorstep in his golden palace. He was made to live in a bubble, shielded from all kinds of evil like death, illness, and poverty in the world. These manifestations were disabused when he stepped out of the palace in his chariot with his father to witness the city of Bodhgaya. This is when he saw starving citizens, malaria struck kids and disabled people tolling in the sun. He was completely dumbfounded. After a lot of contemplation, he fled from the palace, to find his true calling and to truly understand the meaning of life. He lived an ascetic life in the Himalayas, meditated for weeks and months straight, leaving behind his comfortable home. That is when he left behind the 'familiar' conceptions of the world and set out to create new goals for himself. He dedicated his life to serving the needy and poor and is looked upon as an idol in Hindu mythology even today.

While this folklore bolsters rejection of the familiar, there might be certain scenarios where having certain beliefs or morals plays an upper hand. A commonplace example would be getting influenced by wrong habits due to peer pressure. Your friends might be conniving against someone, and hatching a completely illegal plan from someone. While one would be lured into being a part of this, rejecting the familiar and following what your peers are doing might not be the best way to go about in this situation. A wise decision, based on one's morals, beliefs and prudent understanding of the scenario would assist here. Letting go of all ethical values just to complicit in an act for ephemeral gains is foolish.

Hence, I believe in most cases, rejecting the familiar, and looking at a true reflection of ourselves is the best approach to understanding our self-knowledge. In cases where morality and harm might occur, one should hold an informed credence, and not just do what looks right at that moment. Scenarios like these can prove that impetuous decisions might turn out to be extremely detrimental in the long run. In conclusion, evaluate the circumstances, judicially weigh your options and then give in your hundred percent.