The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the first glance, it might be tempting to support that forcing illegal immigrants to return to their countries would be the best approach. Nevertheless, to understand the context of this excerpt in detail, further evidence would be required to reach a justified conclusion.

The author mentions that the autonomy is based on the strength of the border and economy and national identity could be endangered. This holds true in certain aspects as immigrants lead to increasing the population and overburdening the government to fulfil their needs. However, this holds true if they are not returning back to the nation. Not all immigrants might pose a threat to the country, and a good example for this is immigrants from Bangladesh who enter India in hope for jobs. While, it is definitely illegal to enter a nation without authority, these people work in East India, primarily West Bengal as farmers and assist in paddy cultivation. Some of them even open small businesses to cater to their families.

Secondly, the author emphasises on the fact that unchecked immigrants must be sent back forcefully in every scenario. Though, there is no evidence or data on why exactly people were migration into this nation. It could be in search of better job prospects, while there could be more serious scenarios where the immigrant's country is in a completely inhospitable state- were struck with a calamity or stricken with a widespread disease. In situations like these, it is inhumane to forcefully send back the immigrants to live precariously in their country, and hence proper measures should be taken to ensure that the people are safe.

Therefore, before taking the huge step of compulsively returning immigrants from a country, investigations should be conducted to understand the reason of their shifting and secondly what exactly they intend to do while in the nation. Precautionary measures should be taken to avoid mishaps, but judicious steps should be in place to tackle such scenarios without depriving them of human needs.