A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Everyone would be aware of the old adage 'We are what the circumstances make of us', and this saying is a good fit for the criminal scenario as well. When people commit crimes intentionally, there are certain driven forces and motives which compells them to do so, and before the government should resort to any harsh actions, the intensity of the crime as well as the intentions of the criminal should be analysed. In a good law system, the punishment is commensurate with the crime one has committed. Hence, it would be too extreme to withdraw civil rights or take away the right of benefit from labour from every single criminal.

To elucidate this further, an example of the same can be analysed. On one hand there could be a driver who has broken the traffic signal, and on the other a burglar who pointed his gun and stole millions from a bank. Both these people have broken a social contract, and are subject to punishment. But is the severity of both the crimes same? In the Suadi Arabia, criminals who have been proven as rapists are paraded in the city streets in front of the public, and eventually their genitals are cut off as a punishment for their inhumane crime. It is believed that this is a good way to treat them right, and also make the public aware about the strictness in certain areas of the system. While this system does evoke a sense of fear amongst the citizens, some may contend that this could be an extreme manner of tackling issues. I believe it is right to say that a just law system should judge the punishment based on it's severity, and decide the punishment appropriately.

Additionally, there are cases where a father might steal food to help his family survive, while a young teenager might commit a crime without being completely aware of the law. These scenarios lead to issues which should be tackled by a different area of the government. Stealing is definitely wrong, but cases like these show how the government is lacking in proving even a basic necessity to some, or how there isn't social awareness of certian laws which inadverdently makes children commit juvenile crimes.

Secondly, as human beings, we always have the scope of improvement. Even some criminals with intense charges of rape and murder sometimes come out of prison as changed souls. They work, socialise, go out and earn money to sustain, and begin their lives from scratch again. As their punishment, some need to work in social organisations like orphanages, hospitals, NGOs while some also contribute in manual labour work to assist with construction. These activities help them stay connected with the real world, act as ray of hope that life after prison may exists and most importantly, assist in realising their wrongdoings and in a way makes them give back to the society. Thus a law which takes away all the rights of a person after commiting a single crime is far from being fair.

To conclude, I would highlight the importance of having just laws, which study the details of the crime- age, intensity, motives etc. before setting the punishment for the criminal. Also, if the policies seem appropriate, criminals should be given the opportunity to redress their doings. Like it is said, we all deserve a second chance, right?