Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position

I am a true believer of the apothegm- ‘true magic actually happens outside your comfort zone’, and am convinced that studying in a foreign university for a semester, has innumerable advantages. The experiences of working in a completely new environment, amongst students of different upbringings, beliefs, and value systems and most importantly pushing oneself beyond the natural limit is undoubtedly incomparable. Having said that, while I support universities encouraging students to explore different countries, it should not be a mandate in the curriculum.

The primary aim of universities is to ensure an overall personality development as well as a tantamount skill development in the student’s field of study by providing the best resources in the domain. Spending months with completely new faces, in an altogether different country does sound overwhelming at first, but the outcomes speak for themselves.

I come from a background in design, where majority of the learnings happen from the group we work in. Unlike theoretical courses, designing for the real world involves interacting with users, understanding needs, brainstorming about ideas, implementing concepts and failing at them, and eventually prototyping the product to test it with the users. The entire design thinking process involves an amalgamation of art, psychology and science, and having multiple perspectives is extremely important.

This can be elucidated further with an example of my close friend Kushagra, who spent a semester in Purdue University during his pre-final year in college. Kushagra always had an affinity for user research, and wanted to explore more than our university could provide in India. He set out to spend five rigorous months of intense research, from understanding techniques to conducting them in useful areas. This was when he discovered his true calling and went for a Masters degree in the same university right after college. Kushagra now has three published research papers and a patent under his name, and is loving his work immensely. Had he not had the opportunity to venture out of his country, he would have never truly explored his true potential in this field.

While there might be several advantages to this, there is always an other side to the coin. Due to the reverent treatment the students receive after a semester exchange in our country, a number of students consider this as a trend, more than a learning opportunity. To entail similar recognition, they make imprudent decisions and spending exorbitant amounts only to please their peers. Additionally, many universities in India do not completely sponsor an international semester for a student and a large chunk of the expenses have to be entailed by the student. Not every student is financially well off to manage these expenditures, and making this a compulsion would not be the best approach for universities.

I believe universities should definitely offer a semester program in foreign countries, without making it a mandatory affair. Proper orientations and guidance must be provided to students to invest their time and energy judiciously and work towards advancing their careers.