Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

If the teachers receive their salaries based on their students’ scores in the exams, it is likely that teachers will focus primarily on preparing students for the high-stake exams. It is well-known that test preparation often has negative washback effects on learning and teaching. For example, language teachers who are under pressure to help students pass certain tests stipulated by governments often focus narrowly on the skills and techniques that are important for doing well in the tests but ignore students’ needs to learn the language in a more creative and enjoyable way. Maybe in the short term, such policy can improve students’ performance to some extent. But in the long term, students will lose interest in learning due to the exam-oriented pedagogical approaches.

Another problem with the proposed policy is that it forces teachers to promote academic excellence among students as the only goal of education. While doing well academically is certainly a worthy objective for students to pursue, education is more than performing well academically. There are other important goals that teachers and students should try to achieve in schools.Among other things, students should try to develop their leadership skills and build a strong sense of citizenship through a wide range of extracurricular activities. If teachers are paid according to students’ academic performance, all learning and teaching activities will inevitably be driven by academic studies, leading to the lack of attention to other important aspects of development of students.

Some people may argue that this policy will create financial incentives for teachers to work harder to help students do well in school and tests. While this may be true for some teachers and some students, it is important to bear in mind that students’ academic performance is often affected by a wide range of factors. For example, studies have shown that students from middle-class families tend to perform better than those from lower socioeconomic classes. The income and education level of parents, while certainly influencing students’ academic performance, are not something that teachers can control. Therefore, it is not fair to penalise teachers who may make a lot of efforts teaching the students who cannot do well in schools for other reasons.

In conclusion, I do not think students and teachers will benefit from a salary scheme primarily based on academic performance of students as the policy will produce negative washback effects on teaching and learning and harm the overall, balanced development of students. It is also not clear that this policy will motivate teachers to work harder as there are many factors influencing academic performance that are beyond the control of teachers.