Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

What should be the apt criteria of evaluating a teacher’s compensation? The profession of teaching is not an easy one to evaluate. It includes wide-ranging factors ranging from experience, education background to previous work profiles. Hence, adding the performance of their students’ academics would prove as an effective indicator, while it must definitely not be the sole criteria to determine salaries.

The primary objective of a teacher is to ensure the academic as well as overall personality development of their students. Hence evaluating solely on the basis of academic performance would prove to be an inaccurate indicator of the teacher’s effectiveness. Additionally, teaching in a scenario where remuneration is proportional to the average scores of a batch could lead to them having ulterior motives. Teachers could release sample questions or papers before the examination, or get involved in personal coaching and worse, even encourage plagiarism for their personal needs.

Secondly, this might have some nuanced shortcomings as well. Teachers would not be encouraged to teach students or batches which are not so bright or even children with special needs who might not perform extremely well in academics. Good teachers are supposed to be empathetic, and with marks would be the ultimate motive of the teacher, they would be predisposed only towards attaining the top performing batch. This would prove to be detrimental to the education scenario altogether, and might even rise to unhealthy competition amongst teachers.

While there are many downsides to making this a mandate, every coin has another face. Encouraging salary incentives could motivate professors and teachers to strive harder for the betterment of their students. They would be more involved in their lives, try to understand their difficulties and try their best to improve the educational environment within the classroom to elicit results. Not only this, but it would attack the social status which teachers hold in many developing countries in India. Teaching as a profession in India does not glean a lot of respect in the society and is not deemed as a lucrative career. With competitive compensation benefits as mentioned, myriad of educators would be interested in pursuing teaching as a career.

In conclusion, I believe that the success of an educator in any field is evaluated based on multiple factors and is extremely contextual. Teaching is one of the most noble and selfless professions whose main motive to disseminate knowledge. Hence, basing the teacher’s salary only on marks would be a skewed approach. A prudent approach would be to consider academic performances as one of the factors, which would not only motivate teachers to work harder but also help the students to study with zeal and enthusiasm.