When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity:

In this statement, the author suggest the town should need more benches to convertsome unused open areas into spaces for socialzing. To support the recommendation, the author tells us the once heavily used public park the Stanley Park was not so popular as before. In that Video survaillance showed a declining numbers of parking cars. And the tiny Carlton Park is visited by more people a day which provides more seates to people. While this suggestion is problematic, there are some loopholes we need to scrutinize carefully.

To begin with, the Video camera's records is not covincing to prove less people visited the Stanley Park than before. Although the number of people who drove here became less, while they could have other choices of transpotations to get here, maybe they rode bikes to the Stanley or took buses even on their feet which are all highly possible if the people do not want to drive a car to go to this park. What we need concerns is why the car parked less than before, it could be explained as the doldrums of economy which let people drive less in the consideration of fuels.

What's more, the tiny Carlton Park is not comparable with the large Stanley Park. Firstly, the scale is different. Obviously, the Carton is tiny,hence the park's functions are different from the large one, like the tine park may just afford people to have a rest and sit a while, while the large park could be available for a large concert. Secondly, the locations are different, the Carlton locates at the center of the business district while we do not know where is the large Stanley Park is. So in this point they are not comparable. For example, the Stanley Park locates at the suburban of the city where there are less people compared with the center of the city.

Finally, let's discuss with the target of the suggetion, which want to transfer some unused place into socialzing venue with sufficeint benches. While whether the people in the town need the new place for socialzing is in question. Firstly, there are lots of palces for people to socialization like restaurant and bars as well as some public area like parks, while the parks is the one of so many choices, so whether the people will like the new open place or not is unprdicatable. Secondly, given to the case of carton park which offers lots of seats, we can not make the conclusion that people in any new open public place for socializing would like to have a sit and talk, maybe some of people like walking or riding even playing basketball. If new open place introduced with benches, it is hard to say they are welcomed by people.

In conclusion, the suggestion is no well supported by the author's evidence. The author should offer more persuasive evidence to support the recommedation. For example, he should survey the most popular socialzing place where people like in this town, as well as the locations of unused places which could be converted.